Whiter Than Snow

As I was teaching my second graders today, I had to clean off the whiteboard, which had gotten covered with math meeting stuff, in order to do some other math stuff (learning to count money with quarters, woo hoo). Anyway, as I got a damp paper towel and washed away the vestiges of the other words, that sometimes don’t come off so easily depending on the age of the marker, I thought to myself, This is what my heart looks like after Jesus covers it with His blood. Whiter than snow.

How good and pure and perfect it looked–until the next time I got it dirty again with more writing. Praise be to God that my heart is always covered with His blood. Nothing can separate me from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus my Lord. Not my pride, not my covetousness, not my impatience or anger or laziness. I’m whiter than snow in the eyes of Jesus. Just like that whiteboard needs to be washed off every time something gets written on it, my heart becomes clean every time I confess my sin.

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus. Hallelujah.

What do you think?

