Breaking Boards

My family and I participate in Tae Kwon Do together. It started with a friend of my boys encouraging them to come; then David kicked in (pun intended) to have a father-son type thing going. Then Morgan and David’s mom wanted to get involved. I was the last holdout. But I’ve been with them for a year now, through David’s rehab from ACL surgery and Grandma’s deciding it wasn’t something she could whole-heartedly do.

Breaking through a concrete block

A couple of weeks ago, I earned my green belt (that’s four up from white, for the uninitiated–white, yellow, gold, orange, green). The weekend before that, we participated in a board-breaking seminar. Rather, a board- and concrete-breaking seminar. Yes, we broke blocks of concrete with our bare hands. I had the bruise to prove it. It wasn’t easy. It really was mind over matter. If I thought about it too much, no way was I going to be able to do it. I just had to concentrate on technique, and push beyond the block. My target was the floor below. Success felt good.

It’s that way in my spiritual walk. What barriers do I come up against that I think are just too hard to break through?

Complacency? Laziness? Self-doubt? Worthlessness? Comparison? Lack of faith?

The list really could go on. But just as I could focus and break both boards and concrete, I can break these barriers with the help of the Holy Spirit. “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”

What does that look like on a day-to-day basis? Well, I get out of bed and I DO something. That would break the barrier of laziness. Hiya!

Not letting the standards of the world worm their way into my thinking would help break the barrier of worthlessness. Hiya!

Looking only to Christ as my mirror would help me to break the barrier of comparison. Hiya!

That would be from the concrete

It’s so not easy. Sometimes it leaves bruises. But the satisfaction of success takes away some of the pain (that and a bag of ice held on it). Every time I get out and get on my bike; every time I look in the mirror and see myself the way Christ sees me; every time I look at my family and my career and see all that God has allowed me to accomplish through Him, the barriers splinter like so many boards at a board-breaking seminar.

Don’t mess with me. I’m a green belt. And I’ve got the bruises to prove it.

What do you think?

