Contentment

The scene on our bike commute to Colorado State University

Having just returned from a 10-day trip to Colorado, I feel compelled to remind myself that contentment does not come from my circumstances, which are constantly changing, but from my God, who never does. I’d love to live in Colorado, where the weather is decidedly cooler and the mountains and surrounding valleys are picturesque and peaceful. But God  has me in Florida. If I can’t find contentment only in Him and where He has me, then I will not be joyful in any of the tasks He has laid before me. God is in Florida as fully as He is in Colorado. Or California, which is my first choice.

Sunset over the Gulf as seen from Marco Islando, Fla.

And, along with contentment and joy, I want to be happy. I know that God cares more about making us holy than He does about making us happy. I’ve heard those sermons before. But, really, I’d like to find happiness in the life He’s called me to, also. “But godliness with contentment is great gain” (1 Tim. 6:6). “For the joy of the LORD is your strength” (Nehemiah 8:10). “To the person who pleases him, God gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness” (Ecclesiastes 2:26). Contentment, joy, happiness. I can live with that. Even in Florida.

What do you think?

