The Word

“For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double‑edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart (Hebrews 4:12 NIV84).”

In the past, I’ve always struggled to have consistent times in God’s Word. I’m not a morning person, and my days always got away from me. Then along came this little thing called an iPhone, and an app called the YouVersion Bible.

The YouVersion app has many different devotionals and Bible reading plans to choose from. Two years ago, I read through the whole Bible in a year. Last year, I read through the whole Bible chronologically. This year, I chose a devotional reading plan instead.

I have a clock dock by my bed where I keep my iPhone charging over night. In the mornings it wakes me up with a random song from my “God Songs” playlist. I set that alarm to go off a half hour earlier than I need to get up and get the kids going. After one song plays, I grab my phone, open the YouVersion app and read the devotional for the day.

After two years, this is now an ingrained habit. I love using my iPhone because I don’t have to turn on the light. The praise song focuses my heart and the devotional is short and sweet and gets me thinking about living right. And it has me writing on a regular basis: I chronicle my thoughts from the devotional and then post them here.

After two years of reading through the Bible in two different ways, I feel I have a clearer understanding of this rich, vibrant Book that shows me God’s heart. After this year, I might do that again with some other plan just to get another perspective.

If you’ve never read through the Bible completely, I highly recommend it. You might be surprised what you’ll find.

One thought on “The Word

What do you think?

