Time in a Bottle

There’s an old Jim Croce song that says “If I could save time in a bottle, the first thing that I’d like to do, is save everyday like a treasure and then, again, I would spend them with you.”

And then there’s the Steve Miller Band and their philosophical words: “Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’ into the future.”

Or what about Chicago? “Does anybody really know what time it is? Does anybody really care?”

Those were just three songs that immediately came to mind when I thought about time. Showing my age a bit, aren’t I?

How many times do you hear people complain that they don’t have enough time to do the things they want to/need to/have to? Seems to me that God gave us 24 hours in a day for a reason. If He had wanted us to have more time, He’d have given it to us.

I’m thinking He gave us the perfect amount of time. A friend of mine reiterated that same thought a couple of weekends ago in a talk she gave to the group of moms from Trace Academy. Do we only have a certain amount of hours in our school day? That’s the perfect amount of time.

If we feel rushed, that’s not God’s fault. “I need more time!” falls on deaf ears. You have all the time you need–how you’re using it just may be the problem.

My dad died almost six years ago. My kids were 9, 7 and 3 at the time. He didn’t spend spend hardly any time with them at all. That wasn’t just a matter of distance, it was a matter of choice. My mom would say, “Your dad’s not into little kids. When they get older he’ll enjoy them more.”

Well, guess what? He didn’t live long enough to enjoy them, and he robbed my kids of their grandpa. (Do you think I still have issues to work through?) 🙂

Kids are only kids for a short time. People will only be with us a given number of days, and we aren’t told what that number is. I am guilty of putting my responsibilities before my relationships often. I don’t want to regret that later.

Reminds me of another song: Slow down, you’re moving too fast. You’ve got to make the morning last. Just kicking down the cobblestones. Looking around and feeling groovy!

I’m going to rethink how I use my time. Won’t you join me?

Thankful today for:

42. less coughing in the house

43. an anticipated horseback ride on the beach

44. phone calls from distant friends

2 thoughts on “Time in a Bottle

  1. Steph, the song is “Fly Like an Eagle” by the Steve Miller Band. And remind me next time you and I are in the same room with a guitar and three minutes to spare. I’ll play “Time in a Bottle” for you. I loved Jim Croce and played a bunch of his songs when I was learning guitar.

What do you think?

