Matters of the Heart

20120226-104554.jpg
I have heart issues. It used to totally freak me out, but the more often it happens, and the more that tests show there doesn’t appear to be anything wrong, the less it disturbs me. But still, it is my heart, so I can’t help but be a little uneasy.

It used to be very infrequent, but ever since I fully entered that wonderful world known as menopause, it’s pretty much been routine when hormones surge.

It happened last night. I woke up at 3:25 a.m. with my heart out of rhythm. It would take a few normal beats, but then it would quiver and jump and beat erratically. This went on for about 45 minutes, which is a relatively short time comparatively. Usually I can fall asleep, and by the time I wake up again, it’s back to normal.

Last night I had trouble falling asleep. I kept thinking, I have to be up at 6 a.m. to sing with the worship team. I’ve got to be able to
sleep!

Heart issues. They’re disconcerting when they’re physical; would that they would keep us awake at night if they were issues of our spiritual heart.

God, break my heart with the things that break Yours.

Amen.

Thankful today for:

57. The ability to sing
58. Clean water
59. Church potlucks

What do you think?

