Ordinary People

Living in the ‘burbs as I do, the only wildlife I tend to see is dead opossums–and an occasional live one–gators, raccoons, every so often a deer or two, armadillos (which I had no idea lived in Florida until I moved here), and a striking pair of bald eagles that live in the neighborhood and like to enjoy the view from the cell tower across the street.

But yesterday was an extraordinary day. I got to see this guy in our church parking lot–which is right across the street from my house.

20120229-071903.jpg

He (or she, I have no idea how to tell the difference) is a barred owl. He stared directly at me as I slowly approached close enough to get a decent picture with my iPhone. Thank goodness for the zoom feature.

And though I didn’t get to see them, David said he saw a big ol’ mama wild boar and four or five boar-lets straggling along behind her, and then he saw an otter, all before he left the property at his office.

I have a birdbath in my yard that has only been visited once by one lonely mourning dove. And I had a bird feeder that the squirrels enjoyed.

An occasional bunny, red-tailed hawks, cardinals, mockingbirds, crows, wood storks, egrets, ducks. All pretty normal stuff.

But, as I was reminded by a very astute first grader yesterday, Joan of Arc and Martin Luther were just ordinary people that God chose to use in extraordinary ways. They had courage, faith and a desire to please God, but they weren’t born to privilege.

The occasional sighting of an extraordinary animal makes my day. The everyday sighting of ordinary people who could do extraordinary things for God makes His day as well.

“Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom He promised those who love him?” (James 2:5 NIV)

Thankful today for:
66. Cool owls
67. Music
68. My eldest being able to get himself off to school at 6:30 a.m.

What do you think?

