Tempted

I’ve sworn off sugar. For the next three weeks, I’m going to see if not indulging in those little (and sometimes not so little) sweet treats will help me begin to lose this stubborn weight that has creeped up on me these last, oh, 20 years.

I might as well admit it right now: I have no will power, nor do I have any self-discipline. The stuff simply must not come into my house, or I will consume it. I should buy myself a really nice dress that is one size too small. Maybe then the goal of fitting into that dress will motivate me.

ImageI’m not too tempted by anything else; I’m not a spender, so shopping doesn’t tempt me. I’m a cheapskate really, so eating out doesn’t tempt me badly enough that I give into it. But chocolate? Truly that is my downfall. And Easter is right around the corner! But if I see great progress in the next two weeks, the success will motivate me to be very careful.

I was reading a devotional by Joyce Meyer this morning. I’m going to borrow from her five steps we can take to be successful in resisting temptation:

First, be wise. It’s like what we always want to see in our children: the knowledge of natural consequences, cause and effect. Look before you leap.

Second, believe that you can resist temptation. In this case, a positive attitude goes a long way toward helping you actually overcome the temptation. If you think you can’t, you’re not even going to try.

Third, think of temptation as normal life. It will always be there, so be ready to fight.

Fourth, avoid areas of weakness. If you are tempted by sugar, don’t hang out in the candy store. It’s pretty simple.

Fifth, don’t give yourself too much credit. We will always, our entire life, face temptations. If we ever think we have it conquered, we’ve already started to lose.

First Corinthians 10:13 was the very first Bible verse I ever memorized: “No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man. And God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able. And with that temptation, He provides a way of escape also, that you might be able to endure it.”

The Bible tells us that Jesus was tempted in every way we are, but was without sin. So, if being tempted were sinful, then Jesus never would have experienced it. It’s the giving in to the temptation that’s the problem.

So will I be able to endure the temptations that will come my way in the next few weeks?

I’ll get back to you on that.

Thankful today for:

129. salad

130. spring break

131. flocks of birds flitting by


3 thoughts on “Tempted

  1. Glad you weren’t teaching today then…I brought in cookies for the class to celebrate Nate’s birthday tomorrow. =) It’s always good to know our weaknesses and how to battle them. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m “tempted” to join you. I feel so sluggish and unmotivated. I know I can lose weight if I lose the sugar. Just like you, saving money is no problem. . .it’s the sweets. I’m also gonna try to replace my rice w/ quinoa. So sad that Crystal Light has aspertame. Go for it!!!

What do you think?

