Pruned

February in Florida is the time of year when I give my rose bushes their annual pruning. I was a little late this year and didn’t get to it until March. But, regardless, in Florida, the roses are blooming when I prune them. It’s always a painful thing to cut away the new growth and buds and full blossoms, though I do usually get a vaseful to enjoy inside for awhile. But I know this pruning is necessary to keep the plants healthy.

In the Bible, John 15 talks about pruning: “He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful” (v. 2, NIV84).

Huh.

Pruned even though we’re bearing fruit.

We have a little orange tree in our backyard that bloomed beautifully this year, but now it is carrying way too many little pea-sized oranges for its tiny size. I’m going to have to go out when they get just a little bigger and pull most of them off. Why would I do such a thing? Because if I let them all grow to full size, the little tree couldn’t put its energy into growing because it would be putting all its energy into growing the fruit.

Huh.

Picking off fruit so the tree can grow stronger.

Is God amazing or what? There is order in the universe; there is a lesson in every aspect of nature. Lord, give us wisdom to see it.

Thankful today for:
135. good deals on things I’d like to have
136. gift cards to make those deals even better
137. Kohl’s cash to sweeten the deal

What do you think?

