Care Full

I have a friend who lost her husband to cancer three years ago. Every time I am sad or lonely because my husband’s been gone for almost two weeks, I think of her. At least I have the hope that my husband will return on Monday. She has no such hope.

Tomorrow, my church will be serving the community in what we call Vista Serves. It’s a coordinated effort throughout the church to help wherever we are needed. My family will be going to Jo’s house to help her with some things that have needed doing around her house. Things that around my house, David would normally do: fix a light fixture, replace a shower head, build a small guard around young trees. Or they are things I would do if only I had the energy and weren’t completely wiped out from having all the responsibility of the entire house resting on my shoulders.

I’m worn out from my husband being gone for two weeks. I can’t even imagine how Jo feels. I’d like to sleep in on a Saturday morning, but it is my privilege to spend half of my day at Jo’s house.

“He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the alien, giving him food and clothing” Deuteronomy 10:18.

Instead of being full of the cares of this world, bearing the burden alone, we will be full of care for those who need our help around us.

 

Thankful today for:

231. the ability to help

232. abundance

233. community

What do you think?

