New Shoes

I love buying shoes. But I’m also frugal, so I don’t buy shoes that cost a lot of money. And, compared to many, I don’t actually own very many pairs. But I love to buy them. I have something in mind  now that I’d like to go hunt for, and I do have some money saved up in my little allowance budget, so I think I might hit a couple of the nicer department stores this weekend and see if I can find what I’m looking for. My husband doesn’t understand this. He doesn’t need to understand it; he just needs to live with it. I’ll stay on my side of the closet.

Did you know that the Bible has several things to say about feet and shoes?

The first one that comes to mind is Isaiah 52:7: “How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring good news, who proclaim peace, who bring good tidings, who proclaim salvation, who say to Zion, ‘Your God reigns!'”

Then there’s  Ephesians 6:15 and the armor of God: “With your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.”

There are quite a few others verses mentioning shoes (or sandals, really, as that was the common footwear in Old and New Testament times). I guess the point I want to make is that what we wear on our feet is important.

Not our physical feet, our metaphorical feet.

“Your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.”

“How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news.”

Are we ready to go at a moment’s notice? If God calls us, will we talk to our neighbor? Our co-worker? Our friend? Are our feet ready to move?

Jimmy Choo makes some beautiful shoes (and for a mere $600, a pair can be yours).

But I like what Jesus is asking for better: proclaim peace, bring good tidings, proclaim salvation, say to Zion, “Your God reigns!”

Put on your shoes. Let’s go!

Thankful today for:

237. choices

238. digital photos

239. miraculous healings

240. birthday celebrations

241. that my husband is back in Florida

242. math answer books

One thought on “New Shoes

  1. Jimmy Choo must secretly make cycling shoes–which explains why they’re so expensive! I’ll stick with my Shimano sandals and pray for opportunities to share the gospel while pedaling.

What do you think?

