Not Where I Belong

Yesterday, as I was watching my Oakland A’s play the Texas Rangers on the MLB app on my Blu Ray player (I love technology), I randomly heard a snippet from the Building 429 song “Not Where I Belong.” The lyrics of the chorus go like this: “All I know is I’m not home yet. This is not where I belong. Take this world and give me Jesus. This is not where I belong.” After getting over the shock of hearing such a blatantly Christian song at a baseball game, I thought about the words.

Why do we sometimes feel like such aliens here on earth? Well, it’s because we are. This world is not our home. 1 Peter 4:11 says, “Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul.” Our citizenship is in heaven.

I have a dear friend who has lived in Australia for the past nearly five years. She and her family are coming back this summer. While she has come to love the land down under, she is still a citizen of the United States. She has made many friends that she will be leaving behind, but she is coming back to many friends here who still love her. Will the re-entry be easy? I’m guessing not, because she was all there and is returning before she really wanted to. But her parents’ declining health has made it necessary. Will her heart be torn? Yes. She gave a big part of it to Australia, even though she was only a temporary resident. Was that a bad thing? No. She needed to be all in while God had her there. But we as believers are warned not to become so enamored of this world that we have a hard time thinking about going home.

The Bible speaks to this issue: “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will” (Romans 12:2).

We are on a mission here., and we are to represent Jesus as ambassadors. 2 Corinthians 5:10 says, “We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making His appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.”

Our greatest desire should be to return home where we belong, and to bring as many people with us as we can. But I remember when I was younger, I didn’t want to die before I was able to experience certain things here on earth: getting my driver’s license, getting married, having children. But how those pale in comparison to being home with Jesus. While there is much beauty on earth, the beauty of heaven cannot be compared.

All I know is I’m not home yet. This is not where I belong.

Thankful today for:

285. cookie crunch frappiccinos from Starbucks. Yum

286. three more days of teaching this year

287. my little sister and nephew being able to join us in Seattle

288. the smell of bacon

289. insightful articles

290. being republished

291. an anticipated party

292. coupons

293. gift cards

294. a lessening pain

295. kitty breath

296. appreciation

2 thoughts on “Not Where I Belong

  1. Actually, if you are in God’s will and if God puts you here, this is where you belong. It’s up to God to determine when we no longer belong here. As Paul describes in 2 Cor 4, 2 Cor 6, and Phil 1:21 ff., if we have a ministry, this is where we belong. When our obedient duty to God is finished here, then we belong in Heaven — not before. How can we obey the Great Commission (Matt 28) if we’re not out in the world where God has sent us. I am a Christian, and this is where we belong, teaching Sunday School, teaching children in VBS, going door to door for some, or whatever else God tells us to do.

    • Yes, absolutely, you are correct. I didn’t mean to imply that we should all immediately be taken home by the Father as soon as we are members of His family. But, even as emissaries in a foreign country know they are on assignment for just a short time, so are we only on assignment in this world. Do what you’re called to do, but never forget where you belong for eternity. Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comment.

What do you think?

