Exfoliating My Soul

20120522-070704.jpg

Every morning when I shower, I take this rough material and rub away the old, dead skin cells that would stay on my body and make my skin dull and unhealthy. It improves my skin’s appearance and helps it stay moisturized. Apparently, every 28 days or so, we all have completely new skin. And did you know that your skin is actually an organ? That’s not part of my point, I just think it’s interesting.

Here’s my point: I spend those several minutes every day making sure I’m sloughing off the old skin so that the new can shine through. How much more should I be doing this with my soul?

“You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness” (Ephesians 4:22-24.)

Thankful today for:
303. Dreams
304. The growth of my students this year
305. A successful molt for our little hermit crabs
306. Breakfast
307. God’s sovereignty
308. Cleansing tears

What do you think?

