In Need of Water

I have a plant in my house commonly known as a peace lily. It’s real name is spathiphyllum. When it gets thirsty, it really lets you know: the leaves wilt and hang down like it’s bearing the weight of the world on it’s slender stalks. When I see it like that, I grab the nearest unemptied glass of water I can find (they’re usually plentiful around my house) and give it a nice drink. Within an hour or so, it’s perked back up again. It’s a thriving plant, really. To look at it, you wouldn’t guess that it often has to tell me in no uncertain terms that it wants water. I don’t water it on any regular schedule. In fact, when it was getting watered daily, it didn’t bloom. I’m no horticulturist, but I wonder if there are plants that need just a little bit of drought to cause them to bloom.

I think our spiritual lives are like that. We always have a source of Living Water to which we can go on a daily basis. But it’s when we’re in a desert that we bloom. The lessons learned in the hard times are what cause us to grow. We don’t want to live in the desert, where the view of plush plants and grass is missing, but neither should we look at the desert as a place of death. Sometimes our thirst is the only thing that reminds us that we need the Living Water.

“For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; He will lead them to springs of living water. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes” (Revelation 7:17).

*disclaimer: the pictured peace lily is not mine 🙂

Thankful today for:

351. a job well done

352. help

353. a slower schedule

354. a spontaneous play date

355. clean clothes

356. the color green, except when it’s at the bottom of my fish tank

What do you think?

