An Impatient People

IMG_0159My daughter and I have two hermit crabs. One of our original pair died a few months ago, and we replaced it shortly after Christmas. Just a day or so after we got the new guy, he burrowed under the sand in his crabitat, and we haven’t seen him since. Titan, the original hermie, decided to go with him.

That was at least 6 weeks ago. With the advice of my crab-aficionado friend, Robin, we decided to see if we could gently dig them up to see what was going on. So yesterday, with trepidation (I had found Charlotte dead the last time I had dug for a hidden crab), I gently dug around in the sand. Much to my delight, I first found Titan, hiding in a little hidey hole all by himself, but alive and well. Next, the search was on for Alex. Just a short while later I found him across the tank. He also was alive, but not as kickin’ as Titan was. I brought them both topside, cleaned up and refreshed the items in the tank, and then left them to see what they’d do.

Within the hour, both were back burrowed under the sand.

I have no idea what that means.

But upon reading in “The Story” Bible this morning in preparation for the sermon at church this morning, I came upon this verse: “‘Come, make us gods who will go before us. As for this fellow Moses who  brought us up out of Egypt, we dont know what has happened to him.'” There were the people of Israel, whom Moses had just led out of slavery in Egypt, speaking to Aaron, Moses’ brother. Moses had been gone on the mountain to meet with God for 6 weeks. The people grew impatient. Aaron had them give him all their gold jewelry, he threw it into the fire, melted it, and formed a golden calf, which they then proceeded to worship.

Oy vey.

When Moses came down from the mountain, having been warned by God that this had happened, he heard this from Aaron: “‘They gave me the gold, and I threw it into the fire, and out came this calf!'”

Taking matters into our own hands instead of waiting on God is a very dangerous thing. Abraham and Sarah did that. The result was Ishmael–and today’s Arab nation, which has been at war with Israel for thousands of years.

The Israelites grew impatient when Moses was away for 6 weeks. The result? A golden calf, God’s anger, and further judgement on Israel.

Nothing bad happened when I took matters into my own hands and went searching for my secluded crabs. If they had been in the middle of a molt, I could have further stressed them and caused their death. I am thankful that didn’t happen, but it could have.

“Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary” Isaiah 40:31.

God’s plan is always the best. Pushing our own way gets us in trouble.

Thankful today for:

821. Sunday mornings

822. French toast for breakfast

823. a normally beating heart

824. classic literature

825. traditional values coupled with forward thinking

826. the staff at my church

827. help

828. lesson plans

829. a paycheck

830. happy bird song

What do you think?

