Searching My Roots

Last summer, after she listened to a Native American woman speak about her story, my sister Leslie challenged me to write a piece about who I am. The challenge is to know who we really are based on where we come from. I took that challenge and wanted to share it with you. I am currently at a place in life where I’m trying to figure out just exactly who I am and who God wants me to become. Kind of a mid-life crisis, you might say, without so much of the crisis part. Here’s a part of my story. I’d love to hear yours.

I am from

102_1116I am from the Golden State
I am from the winding, hilly roads overlooking the San Francisco Bay
I am from mountains and beaches, rocky shores and tide pools waiting to be explored
I am from sunshine and foggy mornings with the tips of the Golden Gate Bridge just peaking through.

 

I am from the country, the smell of alfalfa and the lowing of cattle
I am from searing heat and shimmering highways
I am from the Old Country, where garlic and olive oil permeate the air
I am from family, from privilege, a name and a reputation to maintain

I am from the land of bagpipes and brave hearts
I am from clan Grant, an unexplored entity in my life

I am from a popular mother and a father who wasn’t sure who he wasrocking chair
I am from the affects of alcohol and disappointment and dying dreams
I am from generosity and volunteering and friendships that lasted through decades
I am from a love uncertain about how to be expressed

I am from acceptance and forgiveness and new life
I am from purpose, from words knocking at the door, waiting to be let out
I am from unconditional love
I am from the heart of God, written on His timeline before it began

2 thoughts on “Searching My Roots

  1. Great exposé. Now the obvious questions are “Where are you going?” and “How much does God want our past to flavor our future, and yet not have us bound to be products of said past?”

    • I don’t think there’s any getting around letting our past flavor our future. But we don’t have to let our past dictate our future. It’s a part of us, but that doesn’t mean it’s all we’ll ever be. As to where I’m going? That’s tbd. 🙂 Anywhere you are, I’d say.

What do you think?

