Quick to Listen

This post is part of the Five Minute Friday link up. We write for just 5 minutes on a one-word prompt and see what happens. Today’s prompt is “quick.”

 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires
(James 1:19-20, NIV).

We all want to be heard. That’s a very common and universal human trait. But sometimes, putting words out there can be scary. There are many times when I will type out a comment on someone’s post online and then backspace, backspace, backspace. I just know that what I said will cause someone to say something in return that is unkind.

I don’t need that kind of negativity. Better that I leave my thoughts unsaid online.

When Jesus’ brother James wrote his letter to the scattered tribes, he wrote to them about their behavior. He wrote about not just hearing the word, but doing it.

He wrote about being humble.

Photo by Tomas Anunziata on Pexels.com

I am often guilty of not being an active listener—listening carefully, asking questions, not just waiting for my chance to give my opinion. That’s not humility. That’s thinking that what I have to say is more important.

It’s like when I’m driving down a road with a double yellow line and someone decides to pass me going way over the speed limit.

They certainly weren’t caring about me or anyone else on the road. They were self-important and just wanted to get where they were going more quickly.

I am determined to not be that kind of driver in conversations, just running over people’s words to get where I want the conversation to go.

Quick to listen. Slow to speak.

9 thoughts on “Quick to Listen

  1. I really wanted to be heard
    way back in the days of youth,
    that the world took my preferred
    version of the Gospel Truth,
    but life came and schwacked me up,
    and I realized what I said
    wasn’t stuff on which the world would sup,
    and so I resolved instead
    to just stay in my given lane,
    writing ’bout my life with cancer,
    and though it would be insane
    to pretend I had an answer,
    at least I could speak from the heart
    about that which I am a part.

  2. I like the idea of not being an inconsiderate driver of conversations. It makes want to go one step further and consider being the passenger in more conversations.
    Thank you for writing and sharing.

What do you think?